Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

That's some hopped up movers!

2005-12-20
7:46 p.m.

The world's fastest movers showed up at our house today around 11:00 a.m. The team is from Atlanta, and apparently they drank caffeine all the way to Charleston, because they hit the door running. Very, very polite, but obviously being paid by the job, not the hour.

By the time they left around 7:00 p.m. they had about 90% of our house packed. Not loaded in the truck, but packed in boxes. And a few things even are loaded in the truck, too.

When we left New Orleans, we had professional movers then as well, and it took two and a half days. Full, long days. This crew will definitely be out of here by tomorrow afternoon, and my money's on early afternoon at that.

Since I expected this process to take at least a couple days, I didn't have quite everything packed in our suitcases, etc. I got busy with that lickety split when I saw the pace they were going to keep. Alas, I did not get the tennis shoes I expected to pack, and was lucky to get a pair of clogs. When you see me, Cinzel, please do not laugh at my old leather Keds on my feet. And you know they'll have paint on them. In fact, that's why I pulled them out, because I didn't care if I messed them up, but I also planned on getting my better pair out.

Also packed are some printer drivers Hubby was hell bent on me finding this a.m. I found them, after much bitching on my part, and then he left the damn things out where they got packed. Men.

There's also assorted other items packed that I kind of planned on hanging onto briefly but, what the hell, sometimes you just got to let it go. It'll be there on the other side.

We're beat, beat, beat tonight, and thankfully we decided to go ahead and check into the hotel tonight, just to have a calm place to retreat to at the end of the day. Best money spent so far on this journey.

Can't wait to take a shower and r-e-l-a-x.


2 comments so far Shear - 2005-12-21 07:06:30
Wow, those movers really move fast! I hope your hotel has a jacuzzi. You'll need it after all of this.
-------------------------------
Cindy - 2005-12-21 06:52:34
Well, of course I'm going to laugh...what are friends for?? I'm glad to hear that so far things are going smoother than you were freaking out about!! Remember...just keep swimming, swimming, swimming...just keep swimming, swimming, swimming... :)
-------------------------------

previous // next