Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Holidaily numero uno.

2005-12-06
7:20 p.m.

I've read a few journals today that are signing up for daily updating during the holidays. While I won't make any true promises, I think I may see if I can post something every day for the rest of the month, unless we move before then. (She says, hoping it happens to occur in the week between Christmas and New Year's.)

Today I've been a.) fretting about whether an attic room can be added for an office for Hubby to the new house we've selected, and if it can be done, how big can it be; b.) getting the prequalification for the new mortgage; c.) wondering how much adding an attic office will add to our new mortgage; and d.) wondering why oh why is this house (our current one) such a mess, while simultaneously cleaning it and throwing out assorted treasures with the hardest of hearts.

And lucky Cinzel, she's been roped into hearing about my worries. It's only taken about 50 phone calls to her today to make sure she knows my every thought.

So far the answers are a.) yes, an attic office can be added, and there's plenty of space up there for it. In fact, it can be as large as the den, if we choose to go that big. b.) prequalification is done. c.) still wondering about this one. We're supposed to know some solid numbers by Friday at the latest. And d.) it is such a mess because for three weeks my husband did virtually no housework to speak of.

Hubby and I are in an interesting pattern right now. The past two nights he's come in and picked a fight, then retreated to our bedroom to watch TV in peace while the kids and I remain down here.

Last night I thought it was just because of all my free-floating anxiety over the moving and changes.

Tonight it was because he insisted on pointing out all the flaws in my ideas about an area of the new house I want to use for the kids' computer area. He pick pick picked it until I finally asked him, what is the deal, dude? Then he got angry, said I never listen to him, and retreated upstairs.

I think I see a pattern here. I would much rather he tell me he just wants some peace and quiet to watch TV instead of starting the argument first. But if I'd point it out? Oh, noooo, he wasn't doing that.

Plus he's pissed tonight because I asked him to straighten up his own office before the real estate agents come tomorrow. Yeah, that didn't fly well, either.

Okay, this is sounding more like holimisery instead of holidaily. I'll try to think of something cheerier to write about tomorrow.


1 comments so far Pattypat - 2005-12-07 08:42:37
Hang in there! My husband and I nearly divorced during the stress of the move. You are so brave to go through all of this at holiday time - I'm thinking good thoughts for you and your family.
-------------------------------

previous // next