Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Oh when the Saints...

2005-09-08
1:55 a.m.

We rarely get to see the New Orleans Saints play over here in our neck of the woods. In fact, usually we only get to see them when they play Carolina, and that's it.

Well, they're playing Carolina this Sunday, so guess where my big wide behind's going to be on Sunday? That's right, camped out on my couch. Rotel dip to the left, M&Ms to the right, and a homemade frozen daiquiri in front of me, Hubby will be right there cheek-to-cheek with me.

I was never a football fan till I met Hubby, and he was and is such a diehard Saints fan, it's impossible not to let his obsession rub off on you when you're around him long enough. But I never thought I'd really miss watching them all that much when we moved. Till we did, and the first fall we saw them only twice.

Now when they're scheduled to play Carolina, oh honey, we get Youngest Son down for a nap, find a friend to come over for Oldest Son, and make preparations and plan junk food menus. It's an event, our own little personal party for two.

And as the Saints usually don't play the second half of the game, we don't get to see them win much, but it's still a taste of home. I suspect it'll be an even sweeter taste this weekend, considering everything our hometown's been through.

For the bonus round: They also play the Monday night game September 19. We may be drunk on homesickness, getting to see them two weeks in a row.

Loki-Katt, still waiting for you to check in...I keep trying to call you at your house and your mom's house and at work, but I can't get through...phone home. phone home. phone home.


1 comments so far Summer Gale - 2005-09-08 13:24:27
I love private football parties but I follow the Patriots.
-------------------------------

previous // next