Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Some of these things are kind of the same...

2005-09-06
6:56 p.m.

How does one tactfully point out an obvious childish behavior to their husband and not get a 10-minute dissertation on how it's different? Ha!

I went to Quizno's with Youngest Son tonight to get dinner for all of us. Both Sons hate "salad" on their sandwices. They also hate mayo, mustard, etc. Just ham and cheese, please.

Hubby wanted the steakhouse dip sandwich that comes with the au jus sauce, while I went for tuna salad.

While my back was turned, no doubt the 31st or 32nd time I made Youngest Son put BACK the cookies, a dreadful turn of events took place. LETTUCE was placed upon Oldest Son's sandwich. The horror. And our order was bagged without the necessary au jus sauce. You can just see this trainwreck about to happen, can't you???

Oh, the moaning that began when Oldest Son unwrapped that vegetable-infested sandwich. Oh My Goodness. And Hubby started telling him to just pick it off, it's not that big a deal, the sandwich will taste fine, good grief.

And then he discovered the missing au jus and the wailing commenced again. How could he eat that steakhouse dip sandwich without the "dip"???? So hard was that sandwich to eat without the dip that the dip had to be fetched. Can you see me rolling my eyes here?

When we were discussing it after dinner, I pointed out just how similar the behavior was. And don't you know Hubby took offense?? (Insert big grin here.) In fact, I pointed out, the only difference I saw between the two behaviors was the mere 41 years separating them. (Insert Hubby's indignant look here. And an even bigger grin on my face, because I gotcha. :) Oh, no, it didn't shut him up, but he knows when he's beat.

*************************************

In other family news, the four-year-old Youngest Son and I are wrestling over just who will wear the crown in this household, after his three-week reign. We have taken to calling him The Dictator, as he seems to think his job is to deliver the orders 'round here. That job is soooooo taken. And there doesn't look to be a vacancy for Quite. Some. Time. in that job, either.

In the last week I spent with my mom and brother, they have taken great joy in telling me just how much like me Youngest Son is. Hmpph. I don't think so. I don't think so at all. :)

Over and out.


3 comments so far Cindy - 2005-09-06 19:27:13
Yes. Yes, he is. Yes. :)
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2005-09-06 20:08:39
ummm but you SHOULD be wearing the dictator crown, living with three males.....
-------------------------------
grizmom - 2005-09-07 10:01:55
Having lived as the only chick in a household of boys - let me tell ya.. if YOU don't wear the crown, there's gonna be BIG trouble to be had! SOMEBODY who is reasonable, organized, capable of multi-tasking at all hours of the day and night MUST be in charge! That my Prettiest Cousin would mean you! :)
-------------------------------

previous // next