Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Hurricanes are awful.

2005-09-01
1:08 a.m.

Hurricane Katrina has made her presence known.

My mom and brother are here in North Mississippi where I am. My brother in Jackson fared well, and tonight even got his power on again.

We are very hopeful about Oldest Brother's house in Slidell. I've been able to find six positive posts in the forum about the status of his subdivision.

My mom's story is quite different indeed. Her neighborhood was hardest hit it looks like. We have only seen fly-over video of her subdivision, and it doesn't go close enough or far enough west for us to see her home or even her street clearly. But what we can see from the areas on the outer edge is grim indeed.

I've read many reports online about the horrific damage in the neighborhood and of an elderly couple who stayed in their home in the same neighborhood being rescued from their attic. They were 75 and 66 years of age, and had spent hours in the attic to escape the rising water.

Worst of all is not knowing what has happened to a good friend. If you look at my buddy list you'll see a listing for lizzzygizzzy. She stayed behind in Biloxi, and I can't find any word of her. I did a search for survivors in the Biloxi area and found a listing of her name, but it included no city or street info. I did a white pages search for that same name, just to see how many of that particular name were in the coast area and counted five. Please, please let one of them be her. Elizabeth, if you see this, please call me.

I also haven't been able to get in touch with loki-katt, but I feel pretty sure she's okay. I'm guessing she went to her brother's, which is another city that was hit hard by this storm. So Debby, you too are instructed to call me when you read this.

And Debby, if you're reading this from somewhere else, I've done searches on your neighborhood, too, and it sounds like you guys made out okay. Haven't found any for your specific street yet, but I have seen several for your subdivision, as well as the one behind yours.

I don't know how to end this tonight. Except to say lizzzygizzzy and loki-katt, please phone home.


2 comments so far grizmom - 2005-09-01 09:29:46
Prettiest Cousin it's so good to hear from you. I hope your friends are safe and sound as well. Houses are truely replacable but people aren't. Know we're thinking about all of you, even those friends we don't know. We're here if you need us.
-------------------------------
Shear-Madnez - 2005-09-02 00:50:39
We just got our power restored here at my home in McComb, MS about 10:00 p.m. tonite. The only thing I know is what other people have told me because we still don't have TV and radio transmissions are sketchy at best...so this is only HEARSAY from others. Slidell took a strong hit from Katrina. Crossgates subdivision was hit hard. Some places along LA 433 were hit hard. Fishing camps and houses along HWY 11 were hit hard especially the Eden Isles area. The water is starting to recede so maybe there will be clearer info tomorrow. My hubby just said his friend told him that anything below I-12 was pretty much flooded. No info on whether buildings and residences were still standing or not. I just found this link about Slidell too. http://www.wwltv.com/local/northshore/stories/083105cccawwlkatslidell.45b6ae6a.html I hope that link works for you. I am so thankful that your family is safe. I pray that the other d'landers from that area are safe too.
-------------------------------

previous // next