Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Stop, Slow Down, and Breathe.

2005-08-14
1:11 p.m.

Remember that e-mail that went around shortly after 911 that told how one man missed the disaster because his son was starting kindergarten that day? Another woman overslept and missed it. Another had to stop and get a band-aid and missed it.

The moral of the e-mail was that God puts obstacles in our way for a reason sometimes. I'm hoping my morning is a case of just that...Him slowing me down for a reason.

I asked for Thursday and Friday off this week so I could get ready to go to Mississippi for three long weeks. I got my days off, plus another one this week, but I still had 173 pages to proofread this morning when I got up.

And I worked my butt off this last week just so this wouldn't happen, but here I am. We are shorthanded and my boss has the new baby, so we're all just working a lot. And yesterday I spent about five hours of the day with Oldest Son's birthday party and some preparations for it, so there just had to be one proofing job left to do this a.m. (The party was a blast, by the way. Well worth the money to have it at the waterpark.)

This morning my copy machine/printer has decided to die. This 173-page job I'm doing has four copies, plus some exhibits. Ahhh! Then the shelf that hangs on the wall in our laundry room fell...with a lot of my work clothes on it, which fell right into the dog's water bowl.

Hubby took over. He went to Office Max to have copies made of my job and exhibits, and I'm waiting on him now. I was really hoping to get on the road by 1:30 our time, but it may well be 2:00 even. All I can do is get there when I get there.

I'm reminding myself to stop, slow down, and go with the flow, because nothing I'm doing will make this copy machine/printer come back to life or the shelf jump back up on the wall. And I get a few more precious minutes with the kids before I don't see them all week.

Hubby and the kids are meeting me in Atlanta next weekend, and our hotel is supposed to have internet service. Maybe I can touch base again then. If not, I'll see everyone in three weeks.

P.S. to Debby: The push car has been secreted out of the garage and into the van before Youngest Son could see it. I'll be around your neck of the woods 8/26 - 8/28. See you then! Oh, and nice try on the emotional blackmail of an honest-to-God paper and envelope letter. I thoroughly enjoyed it and promptly dismissed any guilt. :D Just like when I rag you to update!


0 comments so far

previous // next