Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Ideas for Freezer Meals Wanted!

2005-08-03
9:19 a.m.

Oldest Son told me when I got home after a week of working in Mississippi that they had eaten pizza almost every night. Spoken with wonder and awe that Dad would be so cool as to let them do this.

Also, he introduced Oldest Son to the joy of Chef Boyardee singles in his lunch bag. Blech. Unfortunately, Oldest Son took a real liking to them, too. I can't think of anything more gross than spaghettios and mini raviolis.

I'm less than impressed, and am thinking about what to make and freeze for the next time I go out of town in a couple weeks. This time it'll be three weeks long, though I'll see them in Atlanta, the halfway mark, on the first weekend.

It's been my experience that pasta doesn't freeze all that well, so I was thinking about making my MIL's homemade meatballs with Ragu sauce and freezing just that...I think Hubby would be willing to cook some spaghetti noodles. Also I make a wonderful roast beef, if I say so myself, and I could freeze some of that.

Now's where I'm kind of stumped. I need some chicken ideas that freeze well. We eat a lot of chicken, but mostly grilled on the George Foreman grill or grilled outside. To me there's nothing worse than dry grilled chicken breast, so I don't want to freeze that.

I do make a lemon chicken spaghetti that uses chicken broth and mushrooms and garlic. I was thinking I could make some of that and freeze it without the spaghetti.

We have one of those Foodsaver machines that seals things so well. I've never had freezer burn on anything I've packaged that way, and it's pretty easy to freeze small portions that way.

Hubby makes really good shrimp etouffe, but it isn't the healthiest dish. It includes a healthy chunk of butter, which is one thing that makes it so good.

Anyone got any good dinner ideas that freeze well? I'm open to all suggestions.


4 comments so far grizmom - 2005-08-03 10:54:21
I know this isn't chicken - but Monte Cristo is way yummy and I've frozen that. I have TONS of recipes so will check the chicken section for you and see what I can find. Something else to think about is some baked chicken (use the crockpot) with cream of celery soup - those types of things. I LOVE my crockpot almost as much as I love my prettiest cousin!
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2005-08-03 12:57:08
if you are looking for a chicken thing, there are always the banquet chicken cordon bleu and chicken kiev... both are pretty good!
-------------------------------
Cindy - 2005-08-04 21:07:12
I'm reading shear-madnez now!! Just can't make myself do dill pickle juice...I'd rather limp. :)
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-08-05 12:38:47
If it's only a week that you'll be gone then make the chicken fresh and just leave it in the fridge. It microwaves moist.
-------------------------------

previous // next