Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I'm off today!

2005-08-02
9:48 a.m.

I'm off today! I'm off today! Hip hip hooray, I'm off today!

Mind you, I have enough work to keep me busy for three days off, but I'm so happy not to be going out on a job today.

Last night I worked till 7:00 on a divorce case. This client represents a lot of wealthy folks in this town in their divorces, so it's usually entertaining to take her work. We started at 2:30, and didn't finish till 7:00. Know what time even interesting, gossipy work ceases to be entertaining even for me, the nosiest person around? That's right, 5:01. At 5:02, I become agitated and irritated. Not that it does me any good, and not that I can show it outwardly, but inside, oh, inside I am fussing up a storm!

And Cindy's going to read this and remind me I'll work late in court sometimes, and yeah, I know that. But I swear it's different, the world of freelance and the world of court. In court you work terms, then get a bunch of time off. In freelance, you rarely do, plus you have close deadlines all the time.

Guess I'll go get started on work now. First thing I've got to do before any real work can commence is clean off my desk. Junk mail has been reproducing on it.

Over and out.


1 comments so far Cindy - 2005-08-02 13:44:36
Of course I'll remind you...that is my official job now. :) I was in that freelance world once, brief as it was -- Thank you, God!! -- and I agree, it is much different and much better!! :)
-------------------------------

previous // next