Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Savannah. They sweat a lot there.

2005-07-03
11:30 p.m.

Being the jetsetters we are, Hubby and kids and I set off to Savannah, GA for one night yesterday. A baby vacation, Oldest Son deemed it. And it was just what the doctor ordered for all of us.

Hubby and I were both in the biggest funk yesterday morning. We didn't have any plans for the long weekend, except I planned to work. It's been quite a while since we did something just for fun, so I suggested we see if we could find a hotel room on short notice and just leave.

We did, and we did. :) We had a wonderful time. Savannah is only about 100 miles from us, so we arrived there shortly after 2, when the hotel informed us we could check in, to drop off our one (!) suitcase and settle the dog in. Yeah, Gretel needed a vacation, too, and we found a hotel that accepted pets.

After that we went down to the historic area on the river and got out and walked several hours down there. This portion of the baby vacation came to be known as the Savannah Sweatdown. Oh.My.God. was it hot!!! We started going in t-shirt shops just to cool off.

Before we went back to the hotel we went to an outlet mall right down the street from our hotel and went to only one store....KB Toy store. Oldest Son spent some of his birthday money, and we also bought a $10 plastic bowling game that turned out to be a lot of fun. Plus some Sponge Bob crabby patties and some bubble gum flavored jelly beans.

After a short regrouping at the hotel, we headed for dinner at a Texas Roadhouse that was in a mall, and there was a 30-minute wait. Just so happened there was a video arcade right across the hall, and Hubby ponied up a bunch of quarters for all four of us. They were set to close in 30 minutes, and we were the only ones in the place. Had the best time playing air hockey with Oldest Son. And he beats me with relative ease now...when did that start happening???

After dinner we went back to the hotel with plans to swim, but the pool closed at 10:00 and it was already 10:15. Plus, we had promised Gretel some leftovers, and she was patiently waiting for them. Instead we went to the room and had a bowling tournament with our new game. Hilarious times, complete with a wind-up mouse as your bowling partner.

This morning we slept in till 8:00 (and those of you that know Youngest Son know that is sleeping waaaaay in for him), got up and ate breakfast at the hotel breakfast bar, and then swam in the pool almost three hours till we checked out. Good times, y'all. Oldest Son has all sorts of fancy dives he performed for us. Three little Georgia girls, sisters who were 8, 10, and 12, came in to swim, and they just loved him. They took turns diving with him, and he just ate that up. Love that kid!

Funny how much a spur-of-the-moment trip that was only about 26 hours long can be such a shot of happiness for us all, but it has been. Even Gretel, the 16-year-old miniature daschund, has an extra pep in her step tonight. Well, actually she's snoring at my side in the office here now, but she did have an extra pep in her step earlier.

No bead shops were explored on the trip. We found one before we left today, but it was closed. I called the other before we even attempted to find it, and it was closed, too. Oh, well. The trip was too much fun otherwise to linger on that.

In other beading news, though, I have a new incentive to get me back on the weight loss wagon. I am crazy wanting to take a glass bead making course, but I've decided to use that as my new goal. May take me forever, but I hope not. Either way, I'm not going to take the class until I've lost 50 pounds. And maybe the kiln will be my 100 pound incentive.

I'm going to mess around now and see if I can find one of those ticker things lots of folks have on their pages.

Hope everyone has a fabulous 4th! I'll actually be working tomorrow, and I don't even mind now, having such a great time yesterday and today. Hubby is trying to find a good place locally to see a fireworks show, though, and I'm sure we'll go do that. Love the fireworks!

Edited to Add: Oh, that was really easy, y'all. I used the fireworks ruler so I'll be reminded I started this new attempt on the 4th of July. :) And for anybody who reads Lizzzygizzzy, this will be a no-wafer diet!

Edited Yet Again to Add: Then that was so fun I had to go and add a ticker for our next move. I gave it till June 30, 2006, which is on the outside of the expected schedule. And that ticker scares the hell out of me! Oh jeese does that look soon on a ticker!


2 comments so far chocolate chaos - 2005-07-04 05:38:17
try grocery stores for boxes...
-------------------------------
Kathy - 2005-07-04 08:34:10
Now those are some mighty fine weight loss goals!
-------------------------------

previous // next