Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Color me lazy.

2005-06-16
9:43 a.m.

Feel free to skip this entry, because it is petty complaining.

My boss recently had her second child, another boy, born Monday afternoon, four days ahead of her planned C-section for tomorrow. I am thrilled for her and her husband. They have long wanted another child, but had given up hope. Their oldest son turns eight tomorrow.

So because this new little guy had a mind of his own and came early, my boss didn't have time to do everything she planned to do. One of those things was to load on the office computer and train our office manager to use a program that converts transcripts into an easily e-mailed product. This program is very expensive, so typically offices just buy one copy and all the reporters e-mail ascii versions of transcripts to the office, where it is converted and sent out where it needs to go.

My husband, bless his heart, just loves loves loves some technology, and about five years ago insisted I needed to buy this program for myself. We made the investment, and I've never been sorry, since I can skip the whole send-it-to-the-office step.

I'm sure by now you've made the connection, huh? For the next approximately eight weeks, all ten reporters in our office are sending me their transcripts to be converted and e-mailed. Wah!

No, it doesn't take long. About five minutes a job to convert it, write the e-mails, and send them. No, I would never dream of complaining to my boss or the office manager, but you guys and Hubby are going to get tired of my whining!

Yesterday I came home from working to find two reporters calling and e-mailing, hoping I'd get them sent out right away, as they had clients waiting for them. This morning I've had one phone call and two e-mails from law firms with questions about this program and how to make certain features work....Wah! I have my own work to do! (Like write this entry!)

Color me lazy.


0 comments so far

previous // next