Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Oldest Son is a rich man.

2005-06-11
10:58 p.m.

Oldest Son is having a great summer so far. In fact, watching him right now I sometimes yearn to be a kid again. I loved summertime as a kid, being footloose and fancy free, running barefooted all day and never caring what time it was unless Brady Bunch was on that night!

Last week Oldest Son went to Boy Scout camp and had a great time, even better than last summer. And the last night all of his group got to spend the night at camp and sleep in the main building. He was just thrilled. Hubby was less thrilled, since they slept on cement floors. Even with an air mattress on the floor, it was still too hard for his 49-year-old bones.

On the last day of camp, Oldest Son earned the right to carry a knife, and Hubby gave him a Swiss Army Knife. Oh My God, the things you can do with a Swiss Army Knife. Believe me, I've been filled in on it all. He is so proud to have it, and it makes me smile to see him pull it out of his pocket and admire it throughout the day.

Today we let Oldest Son have a snowcone stand in the front yard. We already had the snowcone machine and the syrup, though I did buy a couple extra bottles. Hubby put up the portable shade tent for him and ran an extension cord out to the middle of the yard.

In his three and a half hours of business he made a grand total of $9.21 He actually had $17.21 in his bucket, but then I reminded him I'd given him $8 in quarters to start out, and he needed to give me the $8 back. I never really convinced him he hadn't earned that $8, and I could tell he still felt robbed when he handed it to me. He says he's setting up again tomorrow, and he's starting with his own quarters, so he won't have to pay me at all. :)

I did have to make him give Youngest Son a free snowcone, though. Then Hubby gave Youngest Son the change in his pocket, all 21 cents, and Youngest Son got the thrill of actually paying for his second one. This was so fun for him today, and it was fun for us watching, too.

Oldest Son obviously has some bartending genes in him, though. I stopped him from setting up a "tips" cup early in his shift. He had his cup all printed up, too, before I caught him and made him throw it away.

Have I mentioned how much I love my kids lately? Even when they drive me nuts.


1 comments so far Jenn - 2005-06-11 23:21:18
I wish someone would set up a snowcone stand around here. Hooray for your little entrepeneur! I think I spelled that right, haha.
-------------------------------

previous // next