Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Oldest Son has almost as hard a head as his mother.

2005-06-09
7:34 p.m.

This morning on our way out the door, I noticed Oldest Son's shoe was untied and asked him to tie it. Oh, the moaning and groaning. I had asked him to sacrifice a few seconds of his precious time for that??? While this son shows no signs of having received my distinctive "grace" genes, I am on the normal mom patrol lookout for things that will either cause my kids harm or make me look bad. I determined his shoe being untied fell into both categories and made him sit down and tie it. And it took me getting very insistent and stern. Good Gravy, the battles my kids pick.

Once in the car on our way to Boy Scout camp, Oldest Son asked me to pick and choose in one of those paper things we all used to make as kids. You know, they're folded up into triangles, and you pick a color off the top, then they spell the letters out and open it and you pick a number? He had one of those in the car, and I picked my color and number, and he read my "fortune" or "information" or whatever you call it as "You're Mean." Passive aggressive, no? :)

I didn't comment at all, and I heard him say juuuust under his breath, "meanER." I didn't crack up in front of him, but I wanted to. I'm oftentimes so highly amused by his attempts.

Tonight he and his dad are sleeping over at Boy Scout camp, and once I get Youngest Son in bed, I'm going to par-taaay! Laundry? Check. Empty the dishwasher? Check. Clean the downstairs? Check. Fun times, fun times. One thing's for sure, though, Youngest Son and I sure aren't going anywhere.

I made a homemade salsa tonight and sat and enjoyed it all by myself. Mmmmmm. Hubby likes it, but neither kid will try it.

Just a little over a month till I start my new job, and I am getting so anxious to do it. Every day working now I feel so stifled and bored by the work I'm doing. And I'm going to do plenty more of it before the year is up, but I'm so looking forward to some change.

Okay, over and out. Sorry, Debby, I have nothing exciting to say, but at least it's an update!


2 comments so far megan - 2005-06-10 09:59:53
How neat! Another court reporter who likes to write... and bead. The lady who does my fingernails likes to bead. I'm always amazed at her productions. She's studying to become a court reporter and attempted to take the official certification test this past April. I warned her that the test... well, that she would probably not pass. She didn't but she took the news better than I would have. She'll try again in October. You got married in Eureka? Wonderful place. We live in the hub of the Ozarks, so we're close to Branson, Eureka and the Buffalo National River. My husband and I both grew up here, although we went to different schools and collages. So, enough about me. What area of the country do you live? I read back into a few of your entries. I know you have two little boys. My children are all grown and can't imagine why I gave up teaching in elementary school to become a court reporter 15 years ago. Well... it's a solitary job mostly, but being an offical can work you to death. You never know when you'll go home... could be five or could be 10 (p.m. that is). Well, I better get back at it myself. I'm working on a 200 page property line appeal with another following and a custody case after that. AND I have a conference call at 11 this morning. Good to talk to you.
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-06-10 14:28:17
I love that fortune he read you. I don't know if I could have kept a straight face! But yeah the beading went on a back burner because I keep running into Kitchenlogic's "sales". I hope when I get started that I have as much flair and style in designing things as she does. I just bought the "Fire" fringe bracelet in oranges and reds and yellows. Dang her!
-------------------------------

previous // next