Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

The first ball.

2005-05-06
7:24 a.m.

I'm trying to think of something interesting to write here this morning, but my brain is dull from lack of sleep.

I blame my sleepless night on you, Cindy! She called last night to talk about the job opening in her district, and then I just couldn't go to sleep. We finished watching Survivor, but then Hubby drifted right off to sleep while I sat up and thought. Thought and thought and thought. About the upcoming changes in our job situation, money situation, and living situation.

As it stands right now, the kids and I would move to New State in June of next year while Hubby stayed here and rode his plant down. His company is now saying it could take 18 to 24 months before they're ready to close and/or sell this plant and be ready to take up this location's operations in Louisville.

Hubby has done some investigating, and if he retired in September or after of 2005, he would receive 61% of his retirement. If he remains employed until June of 2007, the magical date, he would receive 100%. Wow, there's a no-brainer.

I hate for his company (a major corporation that made $65 billion in profit last year) to pay him even one thin dime less than his full retirement. To have put in as many years as he has, and some gut-wrenching years in that time, he deserves his full retirement. But it would mean the kids and I would go on to New State without him and live a commuter marriage for up to a year.

Hubby is really hoping his company will give him the -- give or take -- six months of time toward his retirement in a severance package if he decides he'll be retiring instead of choosing a relocation when the plant does wind down. We'll just have to wait and see.

All along it's felt like we'll have a bunch of balls in the air by next year, and it feels like we're fixing to be handed the first ball.

I don't want to move until school is out next year, which will entail Hubby being a single parent a week at a time for some of the late winter and spring of next year while I went and worked court terms in New State. Then in the summer of next year, I would become the single parent for the next approximately year.

This morning, it seems like we could work this out. During the night? It seems an impossibility, and I worry about it. Agghhh. I really wish I had a crystal ball and could see how the whole thing pans out. The logistics of the whole thing just give me a headache.


1 comments so far Summer Gale - 2005-05-17 13:28:26
Thank you for your concern and caring. As for your situation and considering everyone's age I don't think anything that separates you and your husband and children for that long is a good option. It sounds like hell. I took a job in a different state for just 6 months and it almost destroyed us. Your hubby is not my Ex but I can tell you it will be very hard. Is the money worth the happiness? Can't everyone just stay with him and move together? If there is something I don't know I apologize but if you all just stayed together would something bad happen?
-------------------------------

previous // next