Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Type A, That's Me!

2005-04-22
8:16 a.m.

The Scene: This morning, on my way to take Oldest Son to school.

The Characters: Oldest Son, Youngest Son, and myself. And the most obnoxiously cautious driver of the day.

The Setting: Woman in SUV in front of me is absolutely waiting till there are no cars in SIGHT before she will pull across the highway and into the turn lane.

The Reaction: I look at my watch. I helplessly watch as so many opportunities for her to go pass by unused. I nervously watch the clock. I fume. I check my watch to see if it has a different time than the car radio. I mutter to myself Until I Can't Stand It and I HOOOOONK maybe just a little bit longer than is truly necessary.

All characters react in some way. Oldest Son is fired up, Youngest Son wants to know what's that noise, and I'm watching with great interest, since I've now alerted the lady there are plenty of chances here. She reacts by pulling across the highway but glaring back at me in her mirror.

Then she sits in the damn turn lane forever. I finally pull up next to her in said turn lane and proceed in front of her into the highway, roaring away in great cloud of huff and indignation and importance, I must say. Good Gracious, Woman, SOME of us have somewhere to be.

I fly down the highway, breaking at least one speed limit, and zip right into the carpool lane. Breathe, relax, we're here on time.

And don't you just know who eventually pulled into that line behind me? God, don't ya' hate it when that happens? I'm pretty sure I feel two little burning spots in the back of my head.


1 comments so far Summer Gale - 2005-04-22 14:33:48
LOL! That happens to me all the time. I will race around and the 90 year old I passed 5 blocks ago trundles along up behind me at the next light.
-------------------------------

previous // next