Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Tastes like chicken!

2005-03-27
2:00 p.m.

Yesterday and today have been two of the most relaxed days we've had around here in a long time.

Friday night I semi-cleaned the house and did all the laundry, so yesterday was a big no-stress day. I'd fixed the boys' Easter baskets earlier in the week, so basically all we had to do was color eggs. And that's the fun part.

Youngest Son tried to eat one egg straight out of the dye, shell and all. I think he thought it was such a pretty shade of purple, it must taste good, too. Surprisingly, though, he does like the eggs in the peeled version. He's actually been very open to trying new foods for a little while, and it's nice, this branching out. Unfortunately, I bought a carton of strawberries yesterday that aren't the greatest, being first of the season berries. Youngest Son wanted to try them, so I cleaned one for him and handed it to him. He really tried to eat it, but it was just too tart for him. Now he's telling how much he doesn't like strawberries. Hopefully when the better ones start coming in and he sees his mom and dad eating them by the bowlfuls, he'll be willing to try again.

My favorite quote from this morning's Easter Basket/Egg Hunting festivities: Youngest Son, holding a handful of blue peeps said, "Mmmmm, tastes like chicken."

Hubby and Oldest Son are heading out on their trip tomorrow. In fact, Hubby is at the computer store right now purchasing something or other that will make my brother's computer faster/shinier/smell better, who knows what.

Oldest Son is thrilled to be going, and he's been rounding up his favorite movies, a couple books, his favorite skateboard, and oh, yeah, maybe he will need some clothes. :) He became my favorite son of the day yesterday when he told me, "Mom, I wish you were coming, too."

We really thought the Tooth Fairy and the Easter Bunny may both be making a visit last night. Oldest Son has a loose tooth (I think quite possibly the last, if my calculations are right). He wants to know if the Tooth Fairy will know he's in the other cities they'll be visiting. I assured him she would.

When I was telling my mom about it last night, I could tell she is aching for that tooth to come out on the night they'll be visiting her. She wants to put the money under his pillow and answer his Tooth Fairy letter so bad. And that makes me want to go home and see my mom so bad....which leads to wah wah wah again for the second diary entry in a row. Not really, just made me love my mom that much more. :)

I'm over feeling sorry for myself and just hoping they have a great trip. I told Oldest Son yesterday this would be an adventure he'll always remember, taking this trip with his dad by himself, and how Daddy will be more fun without Youngest Son along, too, who has to be watched much more closely.

The end of April can't come soon enough, though...I'm ready for my trip home and to the convention!! To those of you in the know here, I'm thinking I'll probably drive home Tuesday, April 26, so I can have a couple days with my mom and brother before the convention.

By the time it gets here, I may be leaving Monday, April 25! I have committed to doing a school fair the 23rd, though, and I'd want to spend Sunday with the hubby and kids, so it won't be earlier than that. Can you tell I'm excited!?

I'm off to bake a chicken, roast some potatoes, and fix a fresh salad and a cherry pie. You hear that nycme and pattypat and chaosdaily? Cooking! Me! Okay, that pie is Mrs. Smith's, but I'm fixing the rest of it!

Hope everyone who reads has as much enjoyment from their Easter as we've had here!


2 comments so far Pattypat - 2005-03-28 10:52:06
Hey! That meal sounds delicious! The point is to have something tasty AND get to be with the people you love. That's a lesson I can learn from you.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2005-03-28 10:53:14
That meal sounds delicious! The point is to have something tasty AND get to be with the people you love. That's a lesson I can learn from you!
-------------------------------

previous // next