Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Curses!

2005-03-04
9:08 p.m.

You know how any time your electricity is out for some reason you have the sudden urge to vacuum and watch TV and do laundry and assorted other things that require electricity?

The same is true for water. Oldest Son learned today when the water is out the need to pee is immediate. And he really wanted to go in the back yard.

A cable crew worked in the yard across the street from us today burying some sort of new line. When I realized the water was out I wasn't too concerned, thinking they'd probably shut it off for some reason related to their business over there and they'd turn it back on as soon as possible. I am so naive.

But when Hubby came in 30 minutes later and I mentioned it, he went out to investigate. I didn't know what kind of crew it was, just that they had shovels and machines and were apparently digging something might deep.

Hubby spoke to the supervisor of the crew, and was told oh, no, they hadn't done anything to our line. There would be seepage if they'd hit it.

Hubby came back in and asked me if I'd paid the water bill last month. Ha ha ha. Then he called and reported it, and set off to the neighbors. Every neighbor around us has water. And it's not that I wish waterlessness on them, but damn I hate being special like this.

It is now 9:15 p.m., and the water guy just left. He is having to send a big truck in, whatever that is, and they'll be here sometime during the night. Lovely.

Oldest Son is feeling much better today, and has even started working on his school work.

Youngest Son and I are feeling rotten. Youngest Son has a component of this funk Oldest Son didn't have: Vomiting. That is not a good thing ever, but it's even less pleasant when you can't start the washing machine.

Hubby went and bought bottled water so I could wash us(vomiting is never as much fun unless you make Mom change clothes, too)down as much as possible, and brush his teeth, etc. In a few minutes I'm going to put him down without the bath I was so hoping to give him. I'm thankful no one has diarrhea in this house tonight.

As soon as I get him down, I am headed to my own bed with a dose of Nyquil and the reminder to Hubby that he is ON DUTY Until I Feel Better.


0 comments so far

previous // next