Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

All the news we know.

2005-01-26
6:15 p.m.

First off, thanks for the supportive comments from you guys on the last post. It means more to me than you know.

The news is in: The company will be moving the equipment out of this plant to their facility in Louisville. Since they will have to construct new buildings, etc., the plant closing here is slated to take place in June 2006. So we have six months more than we thought we'd have. Of course all of that can change, too, but that's what we know now.

Hubby's plant manager told him that he (Hubby) would most likely be offered a job in the Texas plant. Gaah! A plant everyone in the company complains about, including Hubby. That plant has been without a plant manager for quite a while, and nobody in the company (a huge company) will even apply for the open manager position because of the problems there.

Yesterday the company sent in a guy from corporate to hold a production pep rally. A regular revival of sorts, telling all the employees how important their contributions to the company were, and how they had to keep it up up up! Yay for the company, hip hip hooray, you all make a difference!!

Tomorrow another person from corporate is coming in to tell those newly-encouraged people that their plant will be closing in a year and a half.

Does this smack of government thinking or what??? Yesterday's pep rally made absolutely no sense, and the management team tried to get them not to do it, but corporate said, nope, they expect it to be business as usual, and they're putting this pep rally on at every plant, no exceptions.

Hubby's just sick over how misled and angry and betrayed all the employees are going to feel tomorrow. He is dreading tomorrow, obviously.

Today my mom called and hinted that she thought Hubby should take the Texas position. My dad and hubby were/are in very similar businesses, and she's comparing our decision to make now with what they had to do. Today she told me she just knew she always had to go where Dad's company sent them, no ifs, ands, or buts.

My dad was always happy with where he was being sent. My husband is not. Sometimes personal quality of life outweighs the job. Even still, I want to remind her that this is OUR decision to make and not hers. And my husband is not my father, thank God, and I am not her.

I know she only wants the best for us, but I swear today she made me feel as if there is no way I could support our family, and that hurt more than she knows. I am not a million dollar wage-earner, it's true, but I'm no pauper wage-earner, either. I'm in a good-paying field, and expect to do fine no matter where we land.

Okay, a big sigh, and I'll stop for now. This was more just a post to get stuff off my chest. It's going to be a long year.


1 comments so far Summer Gale - 2005-01-27 12:11:20
Don't let her get to you. Sometimes we read more into people's comments than is really there because we are vulnerable or want to please somebody. Just do what feels right for you and your family and it will all work out fine. Even if it goes bad and you have to change course at least you won't have a case of the what ifs. Venting is good and I bitch like hell in my journal. Let her rip .. hehe.
-------------------------------

previous // next