Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Finally, I write again.

2005-01-24
1:46 a.m.

Wow, I can't believe it's been 43 days since I've written here.

Hubby's plant is definitely going to close or be sold, we just don't know which or when. They're being hand-fed information in little bits at a time, but this week he's hoping to find out the answer to both of those questions.

Tomorrow afternoon a bigwig from California is coming in to meet with them, and they're all headed to a very expensive restaurant tomorrow night. While the kids and I stay home and have who knows what, but that's one meeting I'd just as soon not attend.

If all things work out as we're trying to make them do, we'll be headed to Mississippi next. A court job is expected to open in December or January, and I have a pretty good shot of getting on there. (Heads up Debby and Elizabeth: It's in Cindy's district. Could I ASK for a better plan???)

It would put me back on a retirement plan, which would be a huge relief, and also would have benefits available, should we need them.

Hubby needs to make it to September in his job to be able to have a "full" retirement. From what he's been able to learn so far, the company would pay 70% of what they pay now for our health insurance. Right now we pay $250 a month and they pay $750. The thought of taking on the whole health insurance payment is one thing that has kept me so worried about this whole experience. And while I would have insurance benefits through the court, I'd bet money hubby's will be a better plan. Once again, just something we'll have to cross when we get to that bridge.

Hubby's boss is telling them he thinks they'll have about a year before the plant closes down for good, if they're closing it. We hope he has that year, because it would work well for us. Even if he had to work an extra month or two, the kids and I would probably go on and he would join us when he finished. But there are so many questions in the air.

For one, we don't know if the company will want to move him to another plant. If they do choose to move him, it'll be to one of two places. First: Louisville, KY. Very doable, have a friend close, like Kentucky, but still a very far piece from home. Two: Port Arthur, TX. Three words: No thank you.

His position is filled in both plant locations already, but if they choose to move the equipment to one or the other, they'll probably need another employee in his field. Gah. The not knowing is killing us.

Also, if they choose not to move him, but instead to severance package him, he believes he'll still be able to take his retirement as well. I just don't know enough about these areas to know if that's the case. If he gets a severance package, he'll be eligible for 42 weeks of pay and retraining in another field (I think like a year of tuition somewhere is what that is). That would be a very nice chunk of change, and I think it would help him relax a little while he's figuring out what he wants to do next.

The bubble in that whole scenario is if they sell the plant and another company comes in and offers him a job, he believes he is not eligible for the severance package (as far as he understands). Like I say, neither one of us are sure about any of this.

The only thing we know for certain is that if we want to head to Mississippi at the end of the year, I need to work as much as physically possible this year to a.) pay off a good bit of debt, and b.) pay a moving company to move us. We don't either one feel like we could move ourselves that far and with this much stuff.

Also, we don't know that we'd even be buying a house for the first year or so, because we don't think we'll make much on this house. Property values just haven't increased much, and we just haven't had it long enough to have much equity in it.

And yeah, the thought of moving again just makes me ill, but the thought of being back in Mississippi and a whole heck of a lot closer to home is making us both giddy. I would have a steady income every month, plus transcripts, as well as the opportunity to free lance outside of court terms. And Hubby thinks he'd like to do something totally different than the field he's in now. He's burned out with what he's done here in the last year and a half.

Youngest Son has been sick all day today, and I've done basically nothing except lay with him and comfort him. I've lost count of how many times he's vomited, and this evening he began to run fever as well. In fact, I'm writing this now because I'm waiting up till it's okay to give him another dose of Tylenol before I go to bed. So far he hasn't woken since he went down, though, and I'm pretty surprised at that. Really wasn't sure he'd keep down the first dose of Tylenol.

Oldest Son's best friend got a mini motorbike today, an electric one, as well as a snazzy new helmet. Suddenly the gas scooter he got for Christmas just isn't good enough, and he's so jealous it hurts.

I tried to explain to him tonight that, hey, that's life. You may have the fastest scooter today, but tomorrow somebody gets a better one. You may ride a skateboard better than anyone on the street now, but next month somebody else down the street will be able to do a trick you can't. It's inherent you learn right now: Life isn't "fair," but you do your best. I didn't make one dent in his thinking. Oh, well, tomorrow's another day to try. :)

Obviously, since Youngest Son is sick, I'll be home tomorrow (today). (So let's start blowing that "work as much as physically possible" plan right out the window!) Hopefully I can get some things done around here besides hold him. Today, though, he told me, "Mama, can you just make it better?" That will break your heart, and you will sit right down on your big behind and do nothing else but hold that little guy.

That's all for now. I'll tell y'all more when we know more. Adios Amigos!


3 comments so far nancy - 2005-01-24 04:59:25
yea its tough when little kids are sick. hope he improves soon...
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-01-25 15:51:32
You have comments! WooHoo! Sorry about son being sick and about everything being up in the air. I hate that. Just do what is best for you guys and it will all work out.
-------------------------------
skibigsky - 2005-01-26 14:57:11
Yuck. Uncertainty is not something I deal with well, so I don't envy you. Good luck with everything, and keep posting updates.
-------------------------------

previous // next