Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Damn Saints and a craft show.

2004-12-05
6:56 p.m.

Damn! We have waited all season to see the Saints play. All season we have checked the paper to see if maybe, just maybe, somebody screwed up and planned to televise the Saints game here, but we were disappointed week after week.

We knew when they played Carolina, though, we would get the game, and so for three months we have consoled ourselves, knowing on December 5th, we'd get the game. Yesterday we both did all kinds of chores we knew needed done so today we could settle back and watch the game.

Oldest Son had a birthday party to attend at a local putt-putt type place, and the birthday boy's parents agreed to both take and return him after Hubby went by their house and explained how we've been waiting on this game. How it's a touch of home for us, and we need to watch it all. I don't know if they were wiping the tears from their eyes or making the loopy-around-the-ear crazy sign when he left, but he was happy.

My job was to get Youngest Son down for a nap at *just* the right time that he'd be down for the start of the game, yet not too early so he would be waking up in the first quarter. Mission accomplished.

We settled down in our pre-selected seats ready to enjoy ourselves and scope folks in the crowd to see if we knew anyone. Alas, we didn't see anyone we knew. And by the end of the game we didn't know the Saints anymore, either. I mean we knew they weren't having a good season, but we hadn't seen just how bad they were.

What a terrible game. Awful. A waste of good junk food and alcohol and Sunday afternoon kid-free time. We had ourselves a regular little party for two planned, and it was like the entertainment didn't even show up.

Damn Saints. But they do play Carolina again next month, the only other game we'll get to see. And yeah, we'll be watching again. Hopeful as always.

I went to the local arts and crafts show yesterday and came away with three purses I hadn't planned to buy, as well as two delicious but overpriced chocolate caramel apples.

I never intended to buy a new purse, but I passed by a lady's booth and just loved the fabric choices she had. She uses upholstery material, so they're very durable, plus you can dry clean them. They also have four pockets around the inside, perfect for stashing the cell phone, sunglasses, keys, and lipstick.

The more I looked at them, the more I liked. I wanted one of each, but I had to exercise the self-restraint. I bought one for me, one for my mom, and a smaller one for my mother-in-law for Christmas.

I just keep looking at mine...love it! I'll definitely be looking there next time I'm purse shopping. Go see them for yourself here. Click on any item to see the color and fabric choices available. I just may have to finally try her backpack style next time I'm looking for a new purse.

The chocolate caramel apples were quite tasty, but I should have asked how much they were before I said I'd take two. Bought one milk chocolate/caramel/peanut one and one peanut butter/chocolate/caramel one. They are fabulous, but when he told me that would be $23, I did choke a little. Since I only had $2 in cash left, it was time to go home.

Saw lots of neat things and lots of weird things and some plain old-fashioned junk, and had a very enjoyable two hours without Hubby or kids.


1 comments so far loki-katt - 2004-12-07 08:05:54
You have missed absolutely NOTHING! They've played crappy all season, and for this team Tom Benson wants a new stadium. HA! Bring home a SuperBowl victory and we'll consider it. Hell, just get there.
-------------------------------

previous // next