Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Would somebody please listen to my point?

2004-11-04
11:11 a.m.

This is totally a vent, so bear with me.

This morning hubby and I slept a little late. About ten minutes late. Not the end of the world, but it did put me behind in trying to get Oldest Son on the bus he so dearly loves to ride.

As I was rousing and hurrying Oldest Son out of bed, Youngest Son wakes up, too. I so didn't need to be dealing with YS, too, when I was trying to get OS's breakfast ready and him settled down to eat it quickly.

Hubby came down the stairs in the best of moods. Happy happy happy...ten minutes wasn't going to make or break his routine today. He was amused at the fact that YS got up so early, too, and couldn't believe I was irritated at the situation.

Number one, I was irritated at myself more than anything for not getting up earlier. I hate the way I have to rush OS when I do that, because he's a feet-dragger on any day, but especially if we have to actually hurry for a reason.

Secondly, if OS did miss the bus, it means I have to bring him to school. The school is only about two miles away, which takes about ten to fifteen minutes on the only rush-hour-infested highway that takes us there. Usually that time is put to good use by OS bitching about how much he wants to ride the bus, and how he hates to be a carpool kid, etc. etc. etc.

The car pool line itself is backed up to the road by 7:15, which is when you can actually start dropping kids off. It usually takes about ten minutes to get through the line, and then another ten or fifteen minutes or so to get back home down the same rush-hour stretch of highway. The stop-go-stop-go variety that gets everyone nowhere really quick. There is no way to avoid this, or believe me, I would drive 20 miles to get around it.

When I do take OS to school, it usually puts me back home around 7:35 to 7:40. Wherein I have to feed YS and get out the door with him by 8:00. I don't look very pretty at all on days I have to do this routine.

Yes, I know it sounds like the biggest problems in the world. I know it's not, and I know I'm the one to blame for sleeping too long, but my husband is the one that really irritated me this a.m. He thought I should just get over it and go with the flow, because it wasn't like I could change anything anyway. Which is true.

My point to him was of course you feel that way, because you only have to get yourself out the door every. single. day. YS getting up early never affects your day. OS missing the bus never affects your day. You can be happy-go-lucky as you please because you only have yourself to worry about every morning. Believe me, if I was watching the same situation with him, I would probably feel like he should lighten up and get happy, too.

Hubby just called about 30 minutes ago to see if I was ready to apologize to him for being so crabby this a.m. Excuse me?

I told him how I could clearly see his point. True, there wasn't anything I could change. He still doesn't see my point, and is now very annoyed with me because I didn't apologize and says I always look for the negative in everything.

I really don't think I do, but maybe I need to do some reflecting on that.

Bottom line: Today I have that feeling that I know all of us mothers feel some days: If anything goes wrong, it's your fault. You are not allowed to bitch about it, and you must put a smile on your face and move on. GAH!!!

Total vent. Can't say I didn't warn you. Maybe tomorrow I can come back with something happier, but for today I just want to write this frustration out of my head.


0 comments so far

previous // next