Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Brother news

2004-10-11
7:55 p.m.

If I had a good excuse for not updating, I would use it right now, but I really don't. So I won't even try to pull a quick one out of my hat...but I have been working a fair amount. When I'm not wasting time bead shopping online, that is.

We are headed home, home, home (!) Thursday morning, and Hubby and I are just hanging onto that idea to get us through these three days. I have a mountain of pages to get out before we go, but if I get through just the first peak of them, I'll be happy.

Before I go to bed tonight, I'm going to go ahead and pack Youngest Son's suitcase. And tomorrow night while Oldest Son and Hubby are at Cub Scouts, I'll pack Oldest Son's.

In family news, Mike is doing well. He was measured for a prosthesis last week, and he hopes to have it by next week sometime. He says as soon as he masters the prosthesis, he is going to make an appointment with his surgeon and kick him in the ass with his new foot.

For those of you who don't know, the surgeon was very discouraging about a prosthesis. He told of his experience with a young, agile, thin female patient whose leg he had to amputate when she was a teenager, due to a boating accident. Seems she found the prosthesis to be a hindrance, and never wore it even after she got it.

The surgeon told us that story several times, and apparently he told Mike that story one. too. many. times, because he cannot wait to go see him again and tell him, Hey, here's a new story to tell. Get rid of that old story, because you're wearing it out.

Mike is hoping to go back to his home sometime in December, I think, and hopefully back to work soon. He still needs to get his driver's license again, but he's really wanting to drive again now.

Mike and Mom have been to Best Buy today, shopping, and he's intending to buy a new computer. He's never been much interested in the internet or anything computer-related, but he's been enjoying playing around on Mom's. I think he just never had time to mess with it much before, and now he's got all the time in the world.

Randy is still struggling. Like I've mentioned here before, he is having a really hard time grieving, and every time I talk to him he sounds just absolutely exhausted. I know the kids are involved in activities that are keeping him on the go, but I think it's mainly the grief that is wearing him out.

Randy will be having hernia surgery in early December, and I plan on taking Oldest Son and heading over for it. He tells me I don't need to, it's outpatient, he'll get a friend to drive him home, etc., but my mom is freaking out that he won't have a family member there. Now I'm not even telling him I'm coming, because I'm not going to argue with him, but rest assured I'll be there when it happens.

Randy got the toxicology reports on his wife's accident Saturday, and her blood alcohol level was .06, so she wasn't legally drunk. She also was wearing her seat belt, and apparently was cut up pretty bad by the belt. He said it was pretty graphic, and maybe was more than he wanted to know, but at least he finally knows something. I don't know if the double indemnity portion of her insurance policy will be voided by the presence of any alcohol or not. I don't think he knows either, but I'm sure he'll find out soon.

We discussed his wife's accident some more this weekend, and since she wasn't drunk, I think it's just the combination of everything: The alcohol, the fatigue, and the rain. Just a matter of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

After I talked to him this weekend, I was thinking about both of my sisters-in-law, and when I first met them. I would have never, ever, ever guessed we'd lose them both so close together and in such bad accidents.

Okay, that's the wrap-up on everyone, I think. I probably won't update till we come back.


0 comments so far

previous // next