Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It's the All Kids Entry

2004-09-21
2:39 p.m.

Recently someone asked about Freckles, the love interest of Oldest Son. Did it die a natural death at the last day of camp? Yes. And no.

Freckles is in the second grade and goes to the same school as OS, so he sees her every day when he goes to lunch. She told him she sits on the end so she can say hi to him as his class enters the lunch room. This makes OS very happy.

Also, Freckles' mom didn't jump on the after-school care program at the school soon enough, so Freckles goes for after-school care to the same day care where YS goes. Where last year OS went for after-school care, too. And yes, I have thanked my lucky stars once again that I got OS into the school program. To pick him up at day care every afternoon and listen to the same "Can OS come to my house today?" and "Mom, can Freckles come to our house today?" all school year would absolutely drive me nuts.

On the days that OS is with me to pick up YS at day care, though, he always comes in to speak to Freckles for a few minutes, and that seems to work.

As just an aside note, though, where does one find a leopard print wrap style that ties at the waist blouse for a seven-year-old girl? If she had cleavage, it would have been showing proud. Obviously her mom is okay with her wearing these things. And I know, I probably go overboard on the protective side, but man, if I had girls I don't think I would let them stop wearing pink clothes with flowers till they went to college.

In other OS news, he has a new favorite TV show. It's one his fathers enjoys and TIVOs, and they've started watching this show together. Married...With Children. I wasn't aware of just how much of it OS was soaking up, though, until we were eating dinner out last week and he related a long story about Al and Peg Bundy that was so far above his head, but funny nonetheless. Since then I've been telling him not to tell Aunt Allison Daddy let him watch that show.

At that same dinner, Youngest Son snagged a piece of Texas toast from Hubby and called it his own. Before he got it eaten, though, he got full. When we were about to leave, he grabbed his toast, took a last nibble, and looked at it, obviously hating to leave it, before he folded it up and stuck it in his pocket. Can't let good Texas toast go to waste.

And the last note in this all-kids all-the-time entry, YS wants a sticker on his hand every evening. Loves the stickers, that boy. I usually have some hanging around from different places, but lately I haven't, so I offered him one of those many address labels we all receive in the mail. He was tickled pink with it. Kind of like a three-year-old's ID tag. Now all he wants is the "words sticker." Since I pay almost all my bills online now, these should last a good long time.

Since Hubby's been out of town, the kids and I have eaten Mexican takeout, pizza, and I think tonight we'll have Taco Bell...someone call Child Protective Services!


0 comments so far

previous // next