Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Yeah, but my kid knows more

2004-08-31
10:38 a.m.

The boys (6 and 10) that live across the street from us have been very happy to tell Oldest Son (who turned 8 in July) everything they know in the year we've lived here. Mainly that there's no Santa Claus, Easter Bunny, or Tooth Fairy.

Hubby and I have decided the reason their parents didn't want them to believe in any of those things is because they're too damn cheap to do anything special for losing a tooth, etc. They're also fairly religious, so maybe it's all about the whole telling them only the truth, too.

I don't know, don't care why you're not going to share these things with your children, but please, if you're going to do that, ask your children not to ruin things for the kids who do believe. But no, these boys have repeatedly told Oldest Son all that stuff was bunk. I'm not sure OS has completely disregarded it all, but he's definitely got big doubts now.

Anyway, there's a new kid in the neighborhood, also eight, that OS has been playing with a great deal. Yesterday I overheard a conversation between OS and him that made it clear the new kid's parents have probably had the old birds and bees talk with him. It was a very innocent conversation, but I expect questions in the very near future.

Last night I was telling Hubby about the conversation and asked him if he was ready to have that little chat yet. After much joking, Hubby suddenly got the bright idea, hey, wouldn't it be great to have this talk with OS and then be sure to tell him to share this with the boys across the street?

This cracks me up, because I'm very sure the youngest boy across the street has not had any of this sort of education, and I haven't noticed anything said by his older brother that would lead me to believe he has either.

Okay, this is probably one of those funnier-if-you-were-there things, but I'm posting it anyway.


0 comments so far

previous // next