Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Freckle-Faced trouble

2004-07-14
10:34 p.m.

Whew, this love business is serious stuff, especially when you're eight years old.

Tonight the mom of Older Son's best friend from Louisiana called. She really called to see why we'd never gotten back in touch with each other when I was down last, but we moved on to one of our favorite topics, what our kids are doing that are driving us freaking nuts.

I told her all about Older Son's girlfriend. She's cute as a bug and already a huge pain in my behind. Hubby or I either one pick up both children around 5:00. It has now gotten to the point that girlfriend is calling us at least by 6:00 to see if he can come over to her house. Three days running now we have gotten this phone call.

At 6:00, I am trying to get some sort of dinner on the table and everyone in one place to eat it. I am getting very irritated with the invitation call and then the ensuing argument that we never let him do anything why can't he go her parents said he can come over anytime he wants to and we are the only parents in the world that don't let their kids go to other people's houses to play wah wah wah wah wah.

Really now. Could we puhleeze just eat dinner in peace? He's punished from riding his bike or talking on the phone this week because he rode his bike to the main highway near our subdivision Sunday afternoon.

I'm thinking Friday night I will let him a.) call the girlfriend, and b.) have his friend (a boy!) spend the night so we don't have to constantly hear about girlfriend.

Tonight we had already said no, he couldn't go over, when we got the 6:00 call, and we let him talk to her on the phone to tell her we said no. She obviously asked him why, and that just means no no no no no, in my book. Not no, but HELL no.

At 8:00 he was out riding his skateboard, and she called again. I didn't answer it. She left a message asking if he could come over, call her back with yes or no, and, "Bye, A, I love you! Mwah!" Damn.

I wonder if her parents know she is calling at 6:00 every night now? And just when do they eat dinner? I'm really beginning to think we may need to get together and chat just a little bit about setting a limit here.

Okay, 'nuff rambling. I just never realized how much a cute little freckle-faced girl was going to be affecting us here!


0 comments so far

previous // next