Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Car troubles

2004-04-13
7:30 a.m.

Just in informal polls here, is there ever a good time for car trouble?? I think not. Though some times are defintely better than others, car trouble ranks right up there with root canals, in my opinion.

So yeah, I was talking on my cell phone, minding my own business, grousing about how I needed to hurry to get to my job when my car just died. Do not pass go, do not collect $200. I was able to coast it into a parking lot, but I was blocking the entrance to the parking lot. One with signs everywhere saying "You can't park here! Under any circumstances! We'll tow you or boot you if you do!"

I finally got the car to run a little, albeit rough, and had to put my foot out and push, Flintstone style, to get it into an actual parking spot. And then grab my machine and walk/hustle the six blocks to my job. Where I sat and wrote and tried to daintily wipe the sweat from my face and neck. And cursed myself for having on a sleeveless sweater under my outer sweater. Two sweaters plus walking six blocks equals a very hot me.

Hubby and Oldest Son came to work on my car, and when my job was over they picked me up and we all went to an AutoZone. Nearly $400 later, the car still wasn't fixed, it was now 4:00, and I had to leave to pick up Youngest Son. We had to have the car towed home, to the tune of $75 in cold, hard cash only, please. Where it still sits.

A co-worker of Hubby's offered to give him a ride this a.m., and that was so nice of him, since he lives a good distance from us. I'll be using the van till we figure out what's wrong with the car or throw in the towel and bring it to Nissan.

Oldest Son was good as gold yesterday, in spite of the fact he had to miss going to the beach like planned, since it was raining cats and dogs yesterday morning, and then missed the movie his dad promised him when they had to come work on my car. He didn't whine, was perfectly happy to kick a plastic Coke bottle around the "You can't park here!" parking lot, and was more than happy to hold screwdrivers, flashlights, etc. Hubby bought him a $1 magnetic antenna thing at the parts store, and he spent a fair amount of time walking around the parking lot figuring out what was metal and what wasn't. I did notice after I told him tires were not ever going to attract magnets? He tried the tires on every single car in the parking lot.

When I picked up Youngest Son yesterday, I was in no. mood. to. hear. shit. The teacher in his room said he'd had the oddest day. Since we went cold turkey on the pull-ups, I'd sent him with plenty of training pants and shorts. She said it was so strange, he'd wet on himself two or three times yesterday, and that never happens. And he'd been to the potty five or six times, too. Well, now. His pull-up is wet every afternoon when we pick him up, so as much as y'all think he's being trained, he obviously isn't. And I made him go the bathroom a bunch this weekend, so maybe that's why the frequency? I dunno. But the wetting himself? This is no mystery to anyone but you, Ms. B. We were quite aware he was wetting himself, but you can't ignore it in shorts and training pants. Well, you can ignore it, because HE is, but I can't.

It's raining here again this morning. Why does the rain make everything just seem more depressing when you're already down? And I'll be back up again, but this a.m. I just want to climb back in bed and start the week over.

And this morning I felt so sorry for Hubby. Last night I purposely put the van keys by my purse, so we wouldn't have that problem. But this morning Hubby decided to put my machine in the van for me, and take out the trash we'd left in it from the impromptu car repair job, which was so sweet of him. Then he put the keys in his pocket...and you see where this is going, don't you? His friend stopped so he could buy a pack of cigarettes, and he reached into his pocket, and...as he told me when they had to turn around and bring them back? I was hoping it was new growth. :)

Okay, got to go get the potty training resistant one up. Hope you guys have a better day!


0 comments so far

previous // next