Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Easter whining

2004-04-11
7:38 p.m.

Okay, Debby, this is for you. :)

Ah, Easter Morning. The bliss of a seven-year-old who didn't go to bed till we forced him at 11:00 getting up at the butt crack of dawn to see his Easter basket. It has been a wonderfully challenging day today, listening to the whining lack of sleep brings out in him.

It is 7:40 here, and he has already had his bath, brushed his teeth, and is reading books in his bed, waiting on me to come up in a little while to read with him. But he's not TIRED! My ears are bleeding from the whining I've heard out of him today.

We did plan on going to the beach after dinner tonight, but abandoned that idea (see whining seven-year-old above) in favor of Daddy taking them both tomorrow. Okay by me! I have to work anyway.

In other weight-related news, at Wal-Mart my husband picked up some beach chairs and an umbrella for them to use tomorrow. When I wandered over to that section after picking up lunch meat and bread, he told me he'd also picked up a chair for me, and pointed the particular one out for me. $26!? No way, just get me that $9.98 one right there. He told me, albeit nicely, that it doesn't go up to my weight. Oh, okay. Gulp.

I didn't scrutinize the cheaper ones to see how high they went, but I did check out the $26 one...and it went up to 240 pounds. He knows I weigh more than that, but that was the sturdiest one they had.

In the end, I had him put back my chair, because I'm not going tomorrow, and just between us three, I'm hoping not to go anytime I'll be sitting on a chair under the umbrella...just a towel for me, thanks, because I just love laying in the sand. :)

Reading the last entry in here, I had to laugh, too, because I was doing so well. I'm so completely on the flip side of that now. I've been eating like the food will run out and I must get my share...sigh.

Last night's Easter Mass was quite possibly the longest stretch I have ever sat in church in one day. The Mass was celebrated in both English and Spanish. Every single thing was either translated into Spanish or sung in Spanish. When I realized that was happening, I was so glad the kid/kids weren't with me.

Two and a half hours later, I left, and it was pitch black. I'd gone at 7:30, with some daylight left, and come out at 10:00. By going from day to night, I felt like I'd been there for days.

Okay, gotta go read to cranky child now.


0 comments so far

previous // next